OWCN 2021

The 8th International Workshop on Optical Wireless Communication Networks (OWCN 2021)

Important Dates:
Paper due: July 17, 2021
Author Notification: July 24, 2021
Camera-ready due: July 28, 2021
Registration due: July 31, 2021
Workshop Date: Aug 17, 2021

Call for Papers
In conjunction with the 12th International Conference on Ubiquitous and Future Networks from Aug 17 to 20, 2021 in Jeju Island, Korea & Virtual Conference.

For more information:
Optical wireless communication (including Free Space Optical communications or Visible Light Communications) technology has recently emerged as a very interesting alternative access communication method for both indoor and outdoor applications for B5G and 6G. It provides many useful and beneficial attributes including the access to several hundred THz of unlicensed spectrum, the immunity to electromagnetic interference and vice versa, thus allowing easy use in restricted areas such as aircraft and hospitals, and additional security options, especially in the visible, IR and UV spectrums to name but a few. This workshop focuses on recent developments and standardizations of the optical wireless communication networks and promising areas of potential applications.

Technical Topics
Workshop focus on topics related to design and development of Optical Wireless Communication Networks, which include, but are not limited to, the following:

Free Space Optical communications
Optical Camera Communications (OCC) and Image Sensor Communications LiFi Physical layer and enabling technologies: Sub-system performance evaluation and design, Transceiver design, Channel modeling, modulation, coding and signal processing techniques. Networking and architecture: MAC layer design, Mobility, Cross-layer design and optimization, Integration between optical-wireless and other wired/wireless networks.
Applications: Location Awareness and LBS Applications, Smart lighting, Application of OWC in vehicular assistive technology and ITS, Short-range applications etc. Other emerging topics: Vehicular assistive technology, LED-ID, Image Sensor based OWC system, OLED based OWC Micro LED based OWC Optical Communication for Biomedical Applications Energy management Standardization (IEEE 802, ISO TC 204, ITU, etc.), Demonstration and Field Tests All papers must be submitted electronically, in PDF format, and uploaded on EDAS. The direct link for paper submission is https://edas.info/N28176 There are two options for the submissions, either a full paper or a short paper. We decided to allow the submission of short papers in order to accommodate the most recent research outcomes. The submissions should be formatted with single-spaced, double-column pages using at least 10 pt (or higher) size fonts on A4 or letter pages in IEEE style format. The maximum number of pages is 6 for full papers and 3 for short papers. Detailed formatting and submission instructions will be available on the conference web site (http://www.icufn.org).
Submitted papers will be reviewed by the workshop Program Committee and judged on originality, technical correctness, relevance, and quality of presentation. All accepted papers will appear in the IEEE Xplore Digital library and will be indexed by Scopus and EI Compendex only if at least one of the authors registers at the full registration rate and attends to present the paper. Also, extended versions of selected papers will be published in the following international journals (SCIE-indexed) as a special section for the ICUFN2021.

  • Wireless Personal Communications (SCIE)
  • Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing (SCIE)
  • International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks (SCIE)
  • Mobile Information System (SCIE)
  • Sensors (SCIE)
  • Journal of Internet Technology (SCIE)
  • ICT Express (SCIE)
  • Recent Advances on Communications and Networking Technology


Steering Committee:

  • Bob Heile (Chairman of IEEE 802.15)
  • Masao Nakagawa (Keio Univ.)
  • Shinichiro Haruyama (Keio Univ.)
  • Yeong Min Jang (Chairman of IEEE 802.15 VAT IG)
  • Rick Roberts (Intel)
  • TaeKyu Kang (ETRI)
  • Harald Haas (University of Edinburgh)
  • Young Woo Kim (Korea Photonics Technology Institute)
  • Jun OHTA (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Thomas Little (Boston Univ.)
  • Takaya Yamazato (Nagoya Univ.)
  • Zhengyuan Xu (Univ. of Science and Technology of China)
  • Nan Chi (Fudan Univ.)
  • Volker Jungnickel (Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute)
  • Ju Hyeon Choi (Korea Photonics Technology Institute)
  • Wataru Chujo (Meijo University)
  • Murat Uysal (Ozyegin Univ.)
  • Jaesang Cha (Seoul National Univ. of Science & Technology)
  • Anh T. Pham (Univ. of Aizu)

Organizing Committee Chairs:

  • Yeong Min Jang (Kookmin Univ.)
  • Zhengyuan Xu (Univ. of Science and Technology of China)
  • Anh T. Pham (Univ. of Aizu)

Technical Program Committee Chairs:

  • Jaesang Cha (Seoul National Univ. of Science & Technology)
  • Ju Hyeon Choi (Korea Photonics Technology Institute)
  • Hoa Le Minh (Northumbria Univ.)
  • Shintaro Arai (Okayama University of Science)
  • Xianqing Jin (Univ. of Science and Technology of China)

Technical Program Committee Members:

  • Murat Uysal (Ozyegin Univ.)
  • Volker Jungnickel (Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute)
  • Haewoon Nam (Hanyang Univ.)
  • Yeon Ho Chung (Pukyong National Univ.)
  • Shien-Kuei Liaw (National Taiwan Univ. of Science and Technology)
  • Yong Hyun Kim (Korea Photonics Technology Institute)
  • Gi Dong Sa (Korea Photonics Technology Institute)
  • Nikola Serafimovski (pureLiFi)
  • Jae Kyun Kwon (Yeungnam Univ.)
  • Junghyun Kim (Korea Photonics Technology Institute)
  • Mitsuaki Oshima (Panasonic)
  • Hideki Aoyama (Panasonic Corporation)
  • Sang-Chul Kim (Kookmin Univ.)
  • Suk Chan Kim (Pusan National Univ.)
  • Hsin-Mu Tsai (National Taiwan Univ.)
  • Soo-Young Chang (CSUS)
  • Li Qiang (Huawei)
  • Tuncer Baykas (Istanbul Medipol Univ.)
  • Hany Elgala (SUNY at Albany)
  • Mohamed Abdallah (Texas A&M University at Qatar)
  • Zhang Junwen (GIT)
  • Yu Zeng (China Telecom)
  • Sung-Yoon Jung (Yeungnam Univ.)
  • Byung Wook Kim (Changwon National University)
  • Wai Ho MOW (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
  • Sunghwan Kim (University of Ulsan)
  • Mostafa Zaman Chowdhury (Kookmin University)

Organizing Committee Coordinator:

  • Nam Tuan Le (Kookmin Univ.)